Community Forums Archive

Go Back

Subject: .wdp file
Posted by: fightinfueler
Date: 7/2/2015 10:07:40 AM

BEEN USING SOUND FORGE 10 FOR A LONG TIME NOW, BUT NOW I QUIT SONY SOFTWARE COMPLETELY NOW!!!

RECENTLY, I OPENED THE SOFTWARE TO SAVE A FILE TO AN .mp3 FILE, BUT INSTEAD ENDED UP GETTING THIS .WPD FILE AND COULD NOT SAVE TO ANYTHING ELSE OTHER THAN .wdp.

WROTE TO TECHNICAL SUPPORT AND THIS WAS MY RESPONSE AS EMAILED:

Response By Email (Travis G.) (07/02/2015 08:31 AM)

Mark,

Thank you for contacting Sony Creative Software. Our software does not create any WDP files. I recommend deleting the .wdp part of the file name and then save the file. It could be that you clicked on a file with that name and extension, and the filename field automatically filled with that name.

If you still have a follow-up question on this particular incident, please feel free to update it. If you have a completely different question, please create a new incident.

Sincerely,

Travis G.
Customer Service
Sony Creative Software Inc
www.sonycreativesoftware.com
Auto-Response By (RightNow Administrator) (07/02/2015 12:41 AM)

If you need assistance with software activation, click here for Live Chat, or if Live Chat is closed, click here for the Software Registration page to complete this process.

HERE IS HOW THE CHAT WENT:

Neal S.: Thank you for contacting Sony Creative Software. My name is Neal S.. How may I help you today?
File attachment upload has started.
The file WDP File.JPG (70.9KB) was received.
Mark M Oldridge: I am having issues with Sony Sound Forge 10. I've been using this software for a long time, but now I'm having an issue. When I save a file, instead of saving as a .wav or .mp3 file it is saving as a .wdp file automatically and can't change it back to wav or mp3 file anymore. I'm using windows 7 32-bit
Mark M Oldridge: never heard of wdp files
Neal S.: Can you please send me the serial number?
Mark M Oldridge: one minute please
Mark M Oldridge: 16F-CSZR-0915-66NW
Neal S.: Let's check to see if a software reset will help the issue. Please read the article below:

Answer Title: Reset software to default settings
Answer Link: https://www.custcenter.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/2744

Mark M Oldridge: tried that, didn't work
Mark M Oldridge: I even uninstalled the entire software and re-installed but still having the issue
Neal S.: This appears to be a technical support-related issue. Chat is available for general support, sales questions, and registration assistance. Technical support is currently not available through the chat service.

Please submit an incident to our technical support team at this link:
https://www.custcenter.com/app/utils/login_form/redirect/ask
Mark M Oldridge: i did that and they said to open chat and speak with a rep
Neal S.: Then I would try going through this page to get technical support for this issue. Please find the page here: https://www.custcenter.com/app/ask
Mark M Oldridge: in other words, you don't know! thanks for nothing!

Neal S.: I don't have the proper tools on Live Chat to assist with more advanced technical issues such as this one. Technical support will be the best place to contact to get answers and trouble shooting for this issue. Is there anything else I can help with today?


NOW I JUST RECIVED THIS IN MY EMAIL:

Response By Email (Travis G.) (07/02/2015 10:04 AM)
Hi Mark,

Thank you for contacting Sony Creative Software. I understand that you had a recent chat that was approached in an unprofessional way. If you are unable to proceed in a professional and cordial manner, I will not be able to provide further assistance. The reason you did not receive technical support via Live chat is because it is available for registration assistance, not technical support.

In regards to the issue at hand, if you delete the WDP extension in that filename field, are you able to save the WAV correctly? Or does it still have the same issue? I will investigate this further if you still see the issue.

If you still have a follow-up question on this particular incident, please feel free to update it. If you have a completely different question, please create a new incident.

Sincerely,

Travis G.
Customer Service
Sony Creative Software Inc
www.sonycreativesoftware.com


COWARDS!!!!!!





....OK, I WENT TO LIVE CHAT AS PER "THEIR" REQUSET AND INSTAED GOT THE RUN-AROUND AS THEY "CLAIM" THEY ARE NOT TECHNICAL SUPPORT AND SENT ME A LINK TO CHAT WITH LIVE TECHNICAL SUPPORT, SAME ISSUE. THEY HAD NO CLUE ON WHAT TO DO ABOUT MY wdp ISSUE AND BLAMED ME FOR THE ISSUE INSTEAD OF BEING "THEIR" FAULT!!! I NEVER CHANGED ANYTHING ON THEIR SOFTWARE, AND THESE COWARDS WILL NOT ADMIT TO ANYTHING!!!! I'D SAY A WHOLE LOT MORE BUT I'M LIMITED TO WHAT I HAVE TO WRITE BECAUSE, AGAIN, THEY'RE COWARDS AND WON'T ADMIT UP TO THEIR PROBLEM!!

I WILL NEVER BUY SONY PRODUCTS AGAIN IF ALL THEY'RE GONNA DO IS BLAME THE CONSUMER INSTEAD OF ADMITTING UP TO IT!!!

COWARDS!!!!!!

MARK M. OLDRIDGE - "LIKE" IF YOU APPROVE MY MESSAGE. TIRED OF GETTING THE RUN-AROUND!!!!

COWARDS!!!!

Message last edited on 7/2/2015 10:15:07 AM by fightinfueler.
Subject: RE: .wdp file
Reply by: ForumAdmin
Date: 7/2/2015 11:47:35 AM

Based on older threads, the recurring pattern is the use of a registry cleaner or software that "moves" your OS and apps to a new system. If you've used these types of software on your system and have the symptoms you describe, something in the registry may have been compromised. Usually, this is resolved with a complete OS reformat/reinstall.

http://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/forums/ShowMessage.asp?MessageID=837120&Replies=4

http://forums.creativecow.net/thread/24/928263

http://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/forums/ShowMessage.asp?ForumID=3&MessageID=756463


Subject: RE: .wdp file
Reply by: rraud
Date: 7/2/2015 5:36:01 PM

I recall the extension <.wdp> was a Corel 'Word Perfect' file. If that's the case, no wonder SF can't open it.
FWIW, When I encounter corrupt and/or audio files that won't open, I change the extension to <.raw>, this has worked on numerous occasions for me.
PS- you will get further being nice, than going off on a rant. And after all, you contacted the CS dept. which handles administrative issues and such, not tech support.

Go Back